The Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas (MoPNG) launched 56 new compressed natural gas (CNG) stations in the country on May 29, 2020. The CNG stations are spread over 11 states and union territories, including Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, New Delhi, Punjab, Rajasthan, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh, and belong to 11 different public as well as private entities. These entities include Adani Gas Limited, Bagpat Green Energy Private Limited, Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited, Dholpur CGD Private Limited, GAIL (India) Limited, GAIL Gas Limited, Green Gas Limited, Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited, Indian Oil-Adani Gas Private Limited, Indraprastha Gas Limited, Maharashtra Natural Gas Limited, Think Gas Bhopal Private Limited, Think Gas Ludhiana Private Limited and Torrent Gas Private Limited. The completion of work at these CNG stations was affected due to the countrywide lockdown imposed to prevent the spread of coronavirus. However, after easing of restrictions, the work was carried out expidetiously, ensuring all safety and social distancing norms.

According to MoPNG, the number of CNG vehicles has gone up from 2.2 million to 3.4 million as the country transitions towards a gas-based economy. With the addition of these new CNG refuelling stations to the network, the daily filling capacity in the country has gone up by over 50,000 vehicles. Additionally, the number of piped natural gas stations have also gone up from 2.5 million to 6 million while the industrial gas connections have increased from 28,000 to 41,000.