The Government of Bihar will launch the state’s first compressed natural gas (CNG) bus service at Samvad Bhawan on July 24, 2021. Earlier, the transport department had been running several diesel-run buses converted into CNG. As part of the new service, 50 buses will run on three different routes — Bankipore bus depot to Danapur (route number 111A), Patna City (555) and Bihta and IIT-Patna (888).

Currently, there are eight CNG stations in localities like Rukanpura, Transport Nagar, Bahadurpur, Gola Road, Deedarganj, Saguna Mor, Naubatpur and Bypass Road near Bakhtiyarpur toll plaza in Patna. Meanwhile, Gas Authority of India Limited, the company which has been setting up CNG stations in the city has claimed that three more stations would come up at Bihta, Masaurhi and Danapur in the next two-three months.